New here

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New here

Hey guys. My name's Patrick. I currently have a few projects sitting in my driveway, however, the reason I am here is to get a 98 CSVT up and running again.

It was (technically still is) my moms car since brand new, and around 2009, it stopped running and hasn't run since. The last thing I did was some plugs at 98,000 miles, and while doing so I noticed that 98% of the wiring insulation was falling off.

So here I am, and hopefully with some help I will fulfill my "promise" to my mom that the car will purr again. She practically gave the car to me, she was going to just give it away.

Currently I am a technician at a Chevy dealer, (lots of recall work to keep us busy) and am pretty experienced with electrical, engines, and everything in between (except automatic transmissions lol).

And no, I wouldn't ever own a Chevrolet. ;)

I currently own a 2008 mazdaspeed3, a '87 Mazda Rx7 turbo (doing big turbo build), a 2003 Focus and my fiancé drives a 2007 Hyundai Sana Fe.

My plan is to get the CSVT up and running and sell the mazdaspeed3.

Did I mention I hate car payments?

Thanks for reading!

-Pat
    Last edited by ContourMike; 03-02-2015, 11:17 AM. Reason: No for sale in New Member Classroom

Welcome patrick. Sounds like you just might've found ur problem. many contours are known for drying out and flaking electrical wires. Member 'svttour' sells replacements. What happened just prior to the car ceasing to run?
    Julian
    98.5 csvt #6226 of 6535
    Rally Inspired 3L turbo'd monsTOUR
    Modifications??? well...lets just say this ain'tcha grandma's contour :D

Comment

Welcome to the forum Patrick. It definitely sounds like a wiring harness issue. Can you remember any of her symptoms before she died. My 98 started just dying while driving.
      98 Silver Frost
      Full 3.0L
      ST220 intake w/ f150 tb

Comment