Replacing Front Suspension

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacing Front Suspension

I finally finished the "how-to" on my experiences replacing the front suspension components.

http://gionpeters.com/car-how-to.pdf

Let me know if you spot any mistakes.

thanks,

Mad Dog

Tom - I did a quick "first glance" and this is one fine document!!! Are you a Tech Writer by trade? To answer a question you have - "18mm open face angle wrench (what’s the real name)" - Off-Set Wrench. Google search will reveal images of the various variations of these wrenches.

Comment

Me a tech writer ? I havnt even ranked to "shade-tree jackass". : ) I tried to be as detail oriented as possible, but now I realize I should of taken more pictures. I probably didn't because I spent so much time cursing the vehicle.

"Off-set wrench". In hindsight that seems kind of obvious.

thanks,

Mad Dog

Comment

I scanned through It quick. It looks to be well written and a great learning tool for new members or learning do it yourselfers. One tool I picked up that makes things easy for the top nut removal and install is the Pass through socket sets. I have a small craftsman set but you can get a set from Harbor Freight for less than $20 with coupons, Like THIS.
        Save big on this 21 Piece SAE/Metric Go-Thru Socket Set at Harbor Freight Tools, the home of quality tools at discount prices since 1968.
        '01 F150 Supercrew-Magnaflow Exhaust, Airmax intake, 33" Terra grapplers
        '98 Satin black CSVT #3107- Portmatched 3L, Quaife lsd and more SOLD 10/28/12
        99 Tgreen/Tan CSVT Ported 3L, Koni/GC's, and more to come.

Comment

I am especially fond of the "don't do this" section. I feel sorry for anyone who lives in the rust belt who has to take the top nut off the strut. I can't see doing that with hand tools.

thanks,

Mad Dog

Comment