• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Cold air intake question

dyaballikl

CEG'er
I'm new to the Contour thing, and I'm an ok mechanic. I pulled the intake off my Mercury Tracer, which it was designed for, and put it on my Contour. My question is this: most people I see putting intakes in their Contours basically lined it up just like the stock one, with the filter where the stock filter was. Is this just for looks, so you can see the filter? I put mine down in front of the transmission. It doesn't look the best, because you can barely see the chrome can the filter, but I figured there's more air flow down there and it should be colder. Is my logic bad? Here's a pic of my setup:
cimg0797vr8.jpg

Itll really suck if you go thru a high puddle!!!

CAI is gonna get more air flow or cooler air cause its directed to grab fresh colder air and NOT the hot air that your engine is giving off!

But also with putting it in a lower place you have to watch out cause if you get water going into it, it will destroy your engine!!!!

Look into purchasing a bypass valve, im sure AEM and a couple other companies make them, But its engineered to protect your engine from the intake sucking in water!

- Amyn

um... not on topic at all. but how did it feel when you put that on and how much did it cost you to do?

um... not on topic at all. but how did it feel when you put that on and how much did it cost you to do?

i honestly can't tell if you're making fun of me or not....
i don't think there's any real risk of pulling in water, since the intake is such a steep climb up the piping, and i don't drive through many puddles, i suppose.

if you were being serious, the intake system was about $135 for my Tracer, and it really did feel ok :crazy:

i honestly can't tell if you're making fun of me or not....