• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

Is there a hitch for a contour SVT?

qokuh

New CEG'er
I am not very good with computers. I tried searching on the search and found nothing. Please help me. I appreciate it. I have a 99 Contour SVT. I am just wondering how it will work with the SVT bumper. However, I saw a SVT with a hitch.

Thank you

Yes, it will place the hitch under the rear bumper on the SVT. If you get a standard contour hitch it will end up that the hitch will be going through the rear mesh :blackeye:. Check your local parts store, IE; autozone, parts plus, etc.. It should run you about $130ish

Any place that sells trailor hitches will do it. I have actually seen a svt contour towning a wave runner before.

I had to look twice

My friend has a hitch on his SVT and yes he has towed two waverunners before. It's crazy how deep he has to put it into the water to unload them...not for me.

I did some research about this a few months ago, because I'd like to be able to tow my Aluminum track event trailer with the SVTC.

Most of the major hitch manufacturers list a hitch for the Contour.
Hidden Hitch 60979, about $100.
Drawtite 24603, about $115
Rigid RT-434-S, about $130
Reese 77009, about $150

Every manufacturer says "not for the SVT...", this is because they won't fit between the CSVT's dual tailpipes, and the CSVT bumper cover probably hangs below the receiver tube.

Based on downloads of drawings and instalation instructions for the various models, it looks like the Drawtite 24603 has the best chance of having the receiver poke nicely through the mesh insert in the bumper, but since I haven't actually bought one and tried it - I make no guarantees.