• Welcome to the Contour Enthusiasts Group, the best resource for the Ford Contour and Mercury Mystique.

You can register to join the community.

seafoam

pithon987

Hard-core CEG'er
where is the brake booster hose or line?:shrug: im gonna probably seafoam my car as it now has 140k and believe it has never had this done.......its my first time doing this so pics would be helpful as well as any other info.....:cool: thanks

Indeed there are. One goes to a bunch of connections behind it and the other connects to the booster I believe.

You can find seafoam at walmart or any auto parts store. Follow the directions on the bottle and no I guess it really doesnt matter which hole you use but I'd use the booster whole because all of the emissions stuff on the other line wont like being unplugged when you start the car.

Well you'll get a little of it through the EGR valve that way but the real way to clean the EGR would be to pull it off and spray it clean.

Well you'll get a little of it through the EGR valve that way but the real way to clean the EGR would be to pull it off and spray it clean.

ive tried that and cleaning the little passage ways just inside the tb and it still didnt get rid of the code. ill give the seafoam a try and see what happens.

what you would really need to do to clean the egr pASSAges is remove the throttle body and just spray the little grooves with a carb cleaner... it works really well, thats whhat i did for my smog.... its really easy too to remove the tb... throttle body.

what you would really need to do to clean the egr pASSAges is remove the throttle body and just spray the little grooves with a carb cleaner... it works really well, thats whhat i did for my smog.... its really easy too to remove the tb... throttle body.

ive done that three times now to it and i used tube cleaners to help with it. still had the code.